MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE

SEPTEMBER 9, 2020

PRESENT: M. Adams, D. Allensworth-Davies, J. Ausherman, C. C. Bowen, W. Bowen, M. Buckley, R. Carnell, B. Cavender, B. Conti, D. Davisson, L. Dong, G. Dyer, B. Ekelman, P. Falk, D. Forte, L. Francis, Z. Gao, J. Gatica, D. Geier, S. Gingerich, J. Goodell, D. Hamilton, K. Hamlen-Mansour, J. Hostutler, Y. Hung, D. Kalir, S. Kaufman, J. Kilbane, R. Krebs, A. Kumar, M. Kwiatkowski, J. Marino, W. Matcham, K. McIntyre, T. Porter, R. Raimer, H. Richter, E. Rauschert, B. Richards, Y. Shen, A. Slifkin, A. Sonstegard, A. Su, R. Tighe, G. Toneff-Cotner, J. Visocky-O'Grady, N. Zingale.
R. Anglin, J. Belovich, R. Betterson, M. Biehl, M. Bond, D. Bruce, R. Dunn, F. Faison, T. Gaspar, E. Grigore, J. Holcomb, K. Kahn, E. Lehfeldt, D. Lodwick, S. Nunley, C. Orahoske, J. Rehm, H. Sands, S. Zachariah, J. Zhu.

S. Kent, B. Mikelbank, M. Rubado, M. Schultz-Bergin, A. F. Smith.

OTHERS PRESENT: C. Bracken, J. Sawicki, N. Sridhar and 258 other participants on Zoom

I. Approval of the Agenda for the September 9, 2020 Meeting

The meeting was called to order by Faculty Senate President Bob Krebs at 3:01 p.m. No changes were offered to the Agenda, and it was approved by affirmation.

administration's unqualified support of the same statement. The motion was seconded and approved by voice vote, making this attached document a joint statement by the Faculty Senate and CSU Administration.

V. Report of the President of the University

President Sands offered an update on a summer "like no other." He expressed collective thanks for everyone's hard work in helping maintain enrollments at numbers very close to last year's, observing that total headcount is only 1 to 2% lower than last year, despite the pandemic. He also thanked the faculty for the significant improvement in 1st to 2nd year student retention rate from 71 to 76%.

President Sands also spoke about how well the university's COVID protocols are working thus far, acknowledging the Faculty Senate's summer approval of classroom COVID policies and the work of student ambassadors in enforcing campus protocols. He mentioned his participation in a recent university presidents' call with Dr. Deborah Birx and U.S. Vice President Mike Pence as well as his regular conversations with Ohio governor Mike DeWine and other Ohio university presidents.

Vice President Forrest Faison responded to several follow-up questions about our COVID testing data, protocols, and statistical approach.

VI. University Curriculum Committee

UCC chair Marcus Schultz-Bergin introduced the consent agenda, which was approved by voice vote.

Consent Agenda: (Report No. 2, 2020-2021)

- A. Business, Executive MBA Program
- B. Communication Sciences and Disorders Minor
- C. Communication Sciences and Disorders, B.A.
- D. English, B.A.
- E. Music Minor
- F. Music, B.A.

VII. Admissions and Standards Committee

Public Health, MPA (Report No. 3, 2020-2021)

Admissions and Standards chair Albert "Fred" Smith introduced the motion from the Admissions and Standard Committee about streamlining admission requirements for the MPH. The motion was approved by voice vote.

VIII. University Faculty Affairs Committee (Report No. 4, 2020-2021)

UFAC chair Joanne Goodell offered a second reading for the Proposed Revision to 3344-13-03 (B) (2) Committee Membership

This revision was approved by voice vote.

IX. Budget and Finance Committee (Report No. 5, 2020-2021)

William Bowen, chair, presented a budget update, reminding us that budgets are political documents reflecting an institution's values. He mentioned that the cooperation between his committee and the administration has been excellent. Professor Bowen suggested that the actual deficit in the operating budget is less bleak than initially feared at the onset of COVID; we are nevertheless still anticipating an operating budget deficit, despite cost-cutting measures in place.

X. Report of the Provost and Chief Academic Officer

Provost Jianping Zhu thanked everyone present for the smooth start of the fall semester. He provided a brief overview of enrollment data and offered particular thanks to the over 380 instructors teaching on campus. He also recognized the time and effort faculty have put into enhancing their remote delivery skills. Provost Zhu also welcomed the 38 new faculty members hired last spring, highlighting our very successful hires, despite the pandemic.

The Provost announced the timeline for faculty input to the CSU 2.0 recommendations: The report will be released next week, and comments will be due October 9. He also explained the new coordination between Cleveland Marshall Law School and Akron Law School. He also alluded to the continued need to "grow" online programs, for budgetary reasons; he will continue to stay in touch with the Senate Budget and Finance Committee about any proposals that may involve outside companies.

Professor Joanne Goodell, Director of the Center for Faculty Excellence, thanked the Provost for his support of the Center's recent and ongoing workshops.

Law professor Patricia Falk objected to the Law faculty not being informed of the possibility of a merger with the University of Akron Law until two hours before the press release about the merger discussions. Professor Gary Dyer queried the need for such a public announcement during such a stage of preliminary discussions. In response, the Provost expressed the need to limit misinformation and rumors as the discussions began. Professor Falk commented that the way this was handled did not conform to the spirit of shared faculty governance. Professor Krebs agreed with Professor Falk on this point.

XI. SGA President

The new SGA president, Renée Betterson, was unable to report because of a schedule conflict and left the meeting early.

XII. Graduate and Professional Student Organization (Report No. 6, 2020-2021)

The newly elected vice president of this organization, Cody Orahoske, outlined his plans for outreach to students and the community, referencing the GPSA's motto of getting everyone engaged.

XIII. Open Discussion Time

XIV. New Business

A. Motion in honor of Jerzy Sawicki (drafted by Professor Weyman with editing provided by Professor Marino).