

CLEVELAND STATE UNIVERSITY Faculty Senate

MEETING MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE

June 29, 2022 1:00 PM – Fully Remote Meeting via Zoom

PRESENT: Faculty Senate Officers R. Krebs and A. Kumar; Faculty Senators J. Ausherman, M.

Bayachou, B. Browning, M. Buckley, B. Conti, D. Davisson, B. Ekelman, L. Francis, J.Gatica, J. Goodell, S. Gore-Panter; T. Greer-Medley, T. Guzman, D. Hamilton, K. Hamlen-Mansour, Y. Hung, W. Kellogg, C. Kothapalli, J. Marino, W. Matcham, B. McClain, B. Mikelbank, T. Porter, R. Raimer, B. Richards, A. Severson, G. Shukla, A. Sonstegard, A. Su, R. Whitbred; Corresponding Members R. Anglin, E. Domholdt, E. Grigore, J. Holcomb, K. Kahn, D. Jewell, A. Robichaud, N. Sridhar, S. Zachariah; Ex

Officio Limited Members M. Schultz-Bergin.

OTHERS

PRESENT: Zoom indicated a peak of 87 participants.

I. Approval of the Agenda for the June 29, 2022 Meeting

Robert Krebs

Senate President Krebs called the meeting to order at 1:02. The agenda was approved by acclamation.

Dr. Krebs noted that Rachel Carnell would be stepping down from the position of Senate Secretary on July 1, as she will assume the position of Dean, Mandel Honors College.

He reported that there was a budget workshop and special Board of Trustees meeting earlier in the week. The University budget is dependent on enrollment, which is projected to decrease in FY23, and can be attributed, in part, to decreased numbers of transfer students from community colleges to CSU.

He also asked voting senators to remain in the meeting through New Business.

II. Nominating Committee—presentation of slate of officers and any nominations by petition

Chandra Kothapalli and Girish Shukla

Senator Kothapalli reported that there is one nomination for each of the positions; one nomination had been received and then ultimately withdrawn. The Academic Steering Committee accepted the slate, with thanks, and decided to continue the process with the candidates:

Dr. Anup Kumar, Communication.....Senate President

Dr. Dana Hubbard, Criminology and Sociology...Senate Secretary

An electronic election will be held, and notice will be sent to eligible voting senators in July. Results of the election will be announced by July 22.

III. University Curriculum Committee

Marcus Schultz-Bergin

C. Motion to establish the School of Urban Affairs within the forming College of Education and Public Affairs (Report No. 34, 2021-2022)

UCC Chair, Dr. Schultz-Bergin, presented the motion, noting that it has the UCC's full support.

Senator Kellogg provided an overview of the reasons for the proposal, which were included in the meeting materials, and noted that it was fully supported by College faculty.

The motion was approved by voice vote.

IV. Undergraduate Student Success Committee

Brian Mikelbank

Senator Mikelbank reported:

The committee accumulated all the different "syllabus statements" from across campus and put those on the student success website, here so that they'd be easy to copy-paste into a syllabus.

The committee worked with e-learning to put syllabus statements into the BB template. To get them, faculty must ask for a template "refresh" to get the most recent version of the template, which includes the syllabus statements. You do that here.

V. New Business

Senator Marino was recognized and made the motion that, "...the Senate recognize Anthropology as a department in order to facilitate its unification with World Languages and Cultures."

Senator Sonstegard seconded the motion, which was approved by voice vote.

VI. Adjournment

There being no more business, Senate adjourned at 1:34pm.

Respectfully submitted,