

CLEVELAND STATE UNIVERSITY Faculty Senate

MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING APRIL 28, 2021 3:00 p.m. Virtual Meeting via Zoom

PRESENT: Faculty Senate Leadership R. Krebs, G. Dyer, and R. Carnell; Faculty Senators M. Adams, J. Ausherman, C.C. Bowen, W. Bowen, M. Buckley, B. Conti, D. Davisson, A. Dixit, L. Dong, B. Ekelman, P. Falk, D. Forte, L. Francis, Z. Gao, J. Gatica, D. Geier, S. Gingerich, J. Goodell, D. Hamilton, K. Hamlen-Mansour, C. Hansman, J. Hostutler, Y. Hung, K. Judge, D. Kalir, S. Kaufman, J. Kilbane, A. Kumar, M. Kwiatkowski, J. Marino, W. Matcham, B. McClain, K. McIntyre, K. O'Neill, T. Porter, R. Raimer, E. Rauschert, B. Richards, H. Richter, Y. Shen, A. Slifkin, A. Sonstegard, A. Su, R. Tighe, G. Toneff-Cotner, J. Visocky O'Grady, A. Zhou, and N. Zingale; Corresponding Members R. Anglin, J. Belovich, R. Betterson, T. Gaspar, E. Grigore, J. Holcomb, K. Kahn, E. Lehfeldt, S. Nunley, C. Orahoske, A. Robichaud, H. Sands, S. Zachariah, and J. Zhu; Ex Officio Limited Members A. Gosselin, S. Kent, K. McIntyre, B. Mikelbank, M. Rubado, M. Schultz-Bergin, and J. Sola.

OTHERS

PRESENT: Zoom indicated a peak of 286 participants.

- I. Meeting was called to order at 3:00
- II. Approval of the Agenda for the April 28, 2021 by affirmation (included change of order for the GPSA report).
- III. Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of March 31, 2021 (moved by J. Marino) accepted into the record by affirmation.
- IV. Report of the Faculty Senate President

Robert Krebs

Senator Krebs reiterated his optimism about CSU 2.0, and he began by announcing the committee election results and thanking the committees for the hard work they do, emphasizing that most of the real work of Faculty Senate occurs in committees.

A. Election Results for

University Faculty Affairs Committee (Standing Committee) – Don Allensworth-Davies (Health Sciences), Linda Quinn (Math and Stats), Heidi Robertson (Law) Diversity and Inclusion Committee (Standing Committee) -James Marino (English) and Michael Baumgartner (Music) Academic Misconduct Review Committee – Grace H. Huang (Teacher Education)

MINUTES - FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Consent Agenda (Report No. 48, 2020-2021)

- D. Communication Sciences and Disorders, MA
- E. Computer Science, BSCS
- F. Finance Major, BBA
- G. Graduate Certificate in Public Health Administration
- H. Health Care Management Minor
- I. Historic Preservation, Graduate Certificate
- J. Minor in Human Resource Management
- K. Philosophy, BA
- L. Science Writing Certificate
- M. Special Education (Mild to Moderate Educational Needs), B.S. in Ed.
- N. Special Education (Moderate to Intensive Educational Needs), B.S. in Ed.
- O. Urban Secondary Teaching
- VII. Report of Student Government Association

SGA President Betterson reported that next year's SGA leadership team has been elected and is planning its transition. Additionally, SGA's Arbor Day tree planting ceremony will take place on Friday, which will include planting two trees for the classes of 2020 and 2021. She also encouraged faculty nominations for graduating student spirit awards.

VIII. Report of Graduate and Professional Student Assn Cody Orahoske

GPSA Vice President Orahoske reported the successful crowd funding event at Café Aroma, and a networking event and professional profile photo shoot. He reported that the GPSA faculty advisor will be Professor Bill Kosteas (Economics), and elections are underway for next year's leadership. He also reiterated the student concerns about the cost of health insurance premiums for graduate students.

IX. Admissions and Standards Committee

Dr. Sola introduced the following three items (**Report No. 49, 2020-2021**), which were approved by voice vote:

- P. Extending Waiver of ACT/SAT Requirement for AY 22-23
- Q. Proposed changes to Graduate Admissions
- R. Procedures for Charges of Academic Misconduct
- X. University Faculty Affairs Committee

Senator Goodell introduced the second reading of the proposed change to the Faculty Senate bylaws, which passed Senate by voice vote:

- S. Incorporating Undergraduate Student Success Committee to Policy 3344-13-03 Standing committees (second reading) (**Report No. 50, 2020-2021**)
- XI. Budget and Finance Committee Report

José O. Solá

Renee Betterson

Joanne Goodell